Course Reflection

Over the course of this class, I have improved and progressed in my reading skills, analytical skills, and writing performance. Apart from the reading and writing comprehension strengths I have acquired from this class, I have also gained proficiency in myself as a whole. Having said that, English 1105 has amplified my studying habits, assisted in the discovery of my strengths and weaknesses, and also assisted in the development of stronger professionalism skills. From this class, I have learned an incredible amount of rhetorical devices and skills — what they are, what they do, and how they work. Not only have I learned about rhetoric, however, I’ve also learned how to form a structural essay, develop literacy narratives, perform reflective interaction, and more. This class is extremely crucial in college, as it provides success and accomplishment in future classes, considering it is an introductory class that teaches the basic fundamentals of writing and reading. As of right now in this class, I am content with my reading and writing proficiency however, I wish to grow stronger in these subjects with additional time and dedication. 

In English 1105 this semester, I have had multiple setbacks and difficulties. By this, I don’t necessarily mean failures, nonetheless, challenges that I’ve had to overcome and push forward for. Specifically in English 1105, I’ve had to overcome the challenges of learning rhetoric. Coming from the past, rhetoric was always a difficult topic to comprehend and acknowledge. Considering the substantial amount of rhetoric used in English 1105, encouraged and motivated me to take an extra amount of time to learn more about rhetorical analysis, rhetorical strategies, and rhetorical devices. The increased time spent on this certain topic, accelerated and enhanced my knowledge of rhetoric. All in all, I think I have improved greatly and excelled in English 1105. With more time on certain assignments, I believe I could have advanced my work and writings to not only raise my grade but to exceed my expectations of what I wanted to complete and fulfill. 

The five-course outcomes of English 1105 include the following: rhetorical knowledge, writing processes, genre conventions, multimodal transformation, and reflective practice. To begin with, we studied and analyzed all rhetorical strategies, devices, and situations. By mastering the art of rhetoric, we did assignments such as applying different rhetorical strategies to business letter writings, labeling someone we know in our lives as a “rhetorical superhero” by expressing certain actions they perform and the characteristics they symbolize, and additional assignments. Next, we mastered the process of writing; by becoming proficient in the process of writing, we were assigned 4 different essays to research and write professionally. The writing of 4 essays also contributed to another outcome from English 1105, which is genre conventions. Genre conventions are simply the elements of stories by creating archetypes of characters, location taking place in the story, the creation of plot twists, and key events. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started